Finalists for the Edison Awards

Posted on: Wednesday, 15th February 2017

Over 40 finalists have been announced for the Edison Awards, CommsDay’s new telecom industry award program, to be held on Thursday March 16 in Sydney.

The most heavily contested category is the Best Internet of Things/Machine 2 Machine company category where six firms are lining up for recognition: Challenge Networks, Cisco, NNNCo, Huawei, Telstra and Vodafone.

Another keenly contested category is Best Virtual Network Operator—a technology agnostic category covering virtual operators of both mobile and fixed networks—where five have made the shortlist: Amaysim, Foxtel, NextDC, Southern Phone and Symbio.

The fixed wireless category is another one with strong competition, with BigAir, NBN, Optus and Vertel all in contention, as with the law firm category where Bird & Bird, Clayton Utz, King & Wood Mallesons and Maddocks are all listed.

Finalists for thirteen categories are being announced today with three to be announced on the night of the awards. Nominations from additional organisations are still being considered and may be added to the list over the next few days.

CommsDay founder Grahame Lynch said that the quality of nominations was high and reflected the high standards and competitiveness of Australia’s telecommunications industry. “We have assembled a 12 judge panel who will look at the nominations over coming days and score them. Based on our initial look, it is going to be a very difficult decision with some extremely strong nominations across all the categories,” Lynch said.

The judges are: ACCAN CEO Teresa Corbin, ASTRA CEO Andrew Maiden,, CommsDay group editorial director Petroc Wilton, CommsDay senior editor Geoff Long, Coutts Communications principal Professor Reg Coutts, Decisive Publishing director and CommsDay founder Grahame Lynch, Eintellego Networks founder Skeeve Stevens, HKBN CTO and former NBN Co CTO Gary McLaren, International Institute of Communications president and former ACMA chair Chris Chapman, Market Clarity principal Shara Evans, New Street Research senior telecommunications analyst Ian Martin and Telsyte managing director Foad Fadaghi.

The Edisons will be held on March 16 at the Westin in Sydney. The event’s guest of honour is Communications Minister Mitch Fifield. Shadow regional communications minister Stephen Jones will also be in attendance.

The initial instalment of the Edisons is sponsored by Optus, Axicom, Juniper Networks and Cisco Systems. CommsDay readers are invited to book tables or individual tickets at the following link:

The Edison awards finalists
* Best telecom marketing initiative: Cisco, Huawei, Telstra
* Best telecom law firm: Bird & Bird, Clayton Utz, King & Wood Mallesons, Maddocks
* Best mobile device: To be announced on the night
* Best cloud provider: BigAir, Cisco, Telstra
* Best telecom core network vendor: Ericsson, Juniper, Nokia
* Best telecom software or support system vendor: Cisco, EEConnect
* Best data centre operator: Equinix, Metronode, NextDC
* Best voice and hosted PBX provider: Aussie Broadband, MNF, Symbio
* Best fixed wireless operator: BigAir, NBN, Optus, Vertel
* Best virtual network operator: Amaysim, Foxtel, NextDC, Southern Phone, Symbio
* Best streaming video on demand provider: Foxtel, Optus
* Best IoT/M2M company: Challenge Networks, Cisco, NNNCo, Huawei, Telstra, Vodafone
* Best satellite company: To be announced on the night
* Best broadband provider/ISP: Aussie Broadband, Foxtel, Optus, Telstra
* Best mobile operator: Optus, Telstra, Vodafone
* CommsDay Hall of Fame: To be announced on the night
Note: Additional nominees are currently being considered and may be added to shortlist

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.