Announcing the 2013 ACOMMS finalists

Posted on: Tuesday, 18th June 2013

A host of new telco players have become short-listed finalists in the communications industry’s premier awards for excellence, the ACOMMS – highlighting the changing face of the communications sector.

Communications Alliance and Communications Day today announced the finalists for the ACOMMS 2013, which recognise exemplary achievement across 10 categories of endeavour.

The ACOMMS will be presented at a gala industry event in Sydney on 18 July 2013.

The short-listed nominees are indicative of the industry’s transformation from the provision of traditional fixed communications to available-anywhere, advanced services and applications. Newer enterprises such as Appscorp, Next Telecom and Ruckus Wireless take their place among award contenders in 2013, alongside more traditional industry heavyweights including Optus, AAPT, Telstra and iiNet.

Communications Alliance CEO John Stanton said: “the activities underlying the nominations bear testimony to the strength of innovation that is driving the Australian communications industry”.

He also welcomed the inclusion for the first time in the award categories of a special award to be made to the Satellite Provider of the Year.

“There are great stories behind the commitment to excellence on display from all finalists. I congratulate and wish them well for the ACOMMS Awards night.”

The ACOMMS judges, drawn from many facets of industry and public life, were delighted by the diversity and calibre of the nominations.”

Decisive Publishing CEO Grahame Lynch said: “The telecommunications industry is currently facing headwinds of change with the advent of 100Mbps wired and wireless broadband, the move to IPv6 and the challenges of the cloud revolution. Australian telcos continue to show themselves as superb in negotiating these changes and maintaining international standards of excellence.\”

The 2013 ACOMM Awards finalists are:

Innovation (large)

Vodafone Hutchison Australia

Innovation (SME)

Appscorp PTY LTD T/A ECConnect
NetComm Wireless
Ruckus Wireless

Commitment to Customer Service – Consumer

Singtel Optus

Commitment to Customer Service – Corporate/Business

Next Telecom

Services to Industry – Professional Services

Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association
Cooper Mills trading as

Partnerships for Growth

Huawei Australia and NSW Ambulance
iiNet and CSIRO

Community Contribution

Huawei Technologies (Australia) Pty Ltd
Singtel Optus

Satellite Provider of the Year
Singtel Optus

Content Delivery

Announced on the night

Communications Ambassador

Announced on the night

Note – the Young Achiever category has been withheld this year

The ACOMM Awards are jointly presented by Communications Alliance and Communications Day and recognise excellence among communications industry participants including individuals, service providers, content providers, carriers, technology partners, consultants and third party suppliers. Telstra is the 2013 title sponsor of the ACOMMS, with iiNet, Optus, VASP, KPMG, DGiT and Bird & Bird also sponsoring the event.

The ACOMMS will be announced and presented at the 7th Annual ACOMMS Dinner on 18 July 2013 at the Sofitel Wentworth, Sydney. Jackie Loeb will be the Master of Ceremonies. Registrations for this year’s event can be made at:


Communications Alliance is the primary telecommunications industry body in Australia. Through a range of successful programs, events and initiatives, Communications Alliance has a leadership role in facilitating industry-based solutions to sectoral issues and is taking steps to bring to fruition the broadband and digital era, including leading the industry’s involvement in the National Broadband Network implementation. For further information visit


Communications Day Australasia is Australia and New Zealand’s most respected source of daily telecom industry news and commentary published under the Decisive Publishing stable. For further information see

Media information contact:

Kreab Gavin Anderson
Lucy Mudd 0402 106 613

Comments are closed.